Skip to content

I’d Like to Rip Off this Photo, But Now I Know Better

July 20, 2012

Some of you may remember this photo from several years ago as the image for my blog. I had done a random Google search for “Camel Needle Eye” or some such thing, and – BAM! There it was, a camel hoisted up by a crane getting ready to drop it through a giant needle, with Washington  D.C. as the backdrop. Perfect.

So I set it up as the big banner image across the top of the screen.

Eventually I got schooled in the world of internet copyrights and blogging, and that these photographs snagged from Google images are actually taken by real people, people who generally make a living off of their creative work, or at least want acknowledgement for it. I tracked down the site where the photo was originally posted (which was now inactive), and even emailed the owners of the site pleading with them to use that camel-photo, but no response.

So I took it down. But since we’re reiminsicing, here it is again, for old-time’s sake. Isn’t it great? I only wish I could tell you who it belongs to.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2012 7:10 am

    I’d like to be assured that no camels were harmed in the making of this photograph! 😉

  2. July 20, 2012 8:24 am

    Wait… is that a cigarette in the background?

  3. July 20, 2012 9:08 am

    I must not be adequately caffeinated yet out here on the left coast.

    Because all I can think of (not internet photos, not copyrights, not creative capital) is “why?!??”

  4. July 20, 2012 9:25 am

    High Calling bloggers road trip to DC for a little photo shoot? I’ll bring the camera, you make a sweet CD mix for the drive. We’ll get a new camel shot in no time. Then people will be asking you for permission.

  5. July 20, 2012 11:40 am

    enlarging the needle
    is how it’s done in dc

  6. July 20, 2012 2:44 pm

    Nice!

  7. July 21, 2012 10:51 am

    I do love that image. So…maybe it’s time for you to do your own?

  8. July 23, 2012 9:07 am

    Wasn’t there an SNL skit about Bill Gates starting a new project to breed tiny camels and make large needles?
    Thanks for the laugh 🙂

  9. July 23, 2012 11:21 am

    I like Mike’s idea! Road trip! CD mix! Maybe even a bit of roller skating along the way.

  10. July 23, 2012 12:03 pm

    Nobody is saying anything about the folks standing underneath the camel. Are they wearing rain gear or just galoshes ’cause you that know heights likely scare the crapoutta more than just me.

    (well, maybe you didn’t know that, but you do know now. all puns intended.)

    * p.s. I remember that image on your site…

  11. ZJF permalink
    October 6, 2012 9:21 pm

    Caption: Romney trying to fit a camel through the eye of a needle!

Leave a Reply

