Skip to content

Some Good News (My First E-Book!) and Some Weird News (Say Goodbye to Bradley…)

June 28, 2012

First, the good news: Patheos Press has just released my first e-book.

Finally! You’re thinking. What took those publishers so long? I know, I know. The uphill battle is always so unexpected, isn’t it?

Well, seriously, it’s a miracle I am getting anything published at all – even a lousy non-hard-cover e-book – considering how lazy and obstinate I have been towards this whole publishing thing.

It’s not like there was a spontaneous combustion of literary agents pounding down my door just because I decided to start blogging one day. And I haven’t exactly been throwing myself all over publishers and agents at writing conferences in a desperate attempt to get published. But, oddly enough, I thought about it all the time.

No, friends, I just kind of bumbled around for the past four years, blogging and helping out my friends at The High Calling.

Then one day I overheard some of the Higher-Ups at The High Calling talking about a partner website, Patheos (the uber-progressive and super-successful multi-faith religion website). Apparently, Patheos was interested in venturing into e-books, and did The High Calling have any ideas for content?

Yes, I was eavesdropping.

I immediately determined to glom on to this emerging opportunity, and rudely inserted myself into the conversation. Before you could say Jack Schmidt, off went a brief, one-page proposal. Patheos liked my idea, and that was that.

So now, before I go and direct you towards an awesome $2.99 purchase of this amazing e-book at Amazon or Nook, here’s the weird news:

I will no longer be using the name Bradley J. Moore.

 

As some of you know (and many of you have probably guessed (and many more who could care less)), I have been writing under a pen name for the past four years. There’s plenty good explanation why, but I’ll save that for another day. Today, I want to re-introduce myself.

Hello.

My name is James B. Wood. What’s yours?

Here is my Facebook page. Here is my LinkedIn page. Here is the business book I wrote twelve years ago that got me hooked on writing.

This is me. I will no longer be hiding behind a pen name.

From this point henceforth, I will be using J.B. Wood as my writing name, because, as you can see, it has a much better ring to it than the thud-inducing “Jim Wood.” I hope you are okay with that.

And now, I would like you to say hello to my e-book:

Read it! Buy it! Be inspired by it! Tell your friends!

I will miss Bradley. I really, really, really liked that pen name. You can still call me Brad, if you’d like, since that’s my middle name. Yeah, that’s the “B” in J.B.

Thanks to Tina for the photo!

(And if you haven’t gotten the hint from any of the multiple links on this post so far, you can buy the e-book here.)

50 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 6:04 am

    It just downloaded into my Kindle. Congratulations Brad.., uh, Jim!

  2. June 28, 2012 6:08 am

    I always refer to you as Shrinking Camel guy anyway. But whoever you are, and whatever you call yourself, I’m so glad you are getting your ideas out into the marketplace. They’re good ones. Congrats.

  3. June 28, 2012 6:36 am

    Jim, can’t wait to read the book- congrats!

  4. Sheila Seiler Lagrand permalink
    June 28, 2012 6:41 am

    Excuse me while I go resizzle some synapses. Jim, huh? Well.

    Congratulations on the book! I’ll be adding it to my Kindle backlog soon. 🙂

  5. June 28, 2012 6:48 am

    Gosh! You think you know a guy! Good thing your Twitter handle is “Shrinking the Camel”!

    Congrats on the book with Patheos. Way to be uber-progressive! Working with a small press is such a great experience for me so far. Hope it’s been that way for you.

  6. June 28, 2012 7:19 am

    Well, dang me! They oughta tke a rope and hang me (or you.)! You shore had me fooled. I was thinking I had myself a real friend, and now he tells me he ain’t he. Anyway you cut it, you can write. I think I told you that a long time ago. Good luck. Don’t get high-faluting and out of touch and too bizzy to say hey to an old friend now and then. I’m really don kimrey.

  7. June 28, 2012 7:23 am

    Oh, one other thing: I’m not sure if you ever met Dale Glading online. He founded and directed the Saints Prison Ministry for 27 years. Recently began a new work in Vero Beach, Fla., doing some of the same thing. RISK TAKERS FOR CHRIST will be conducting a mission in the prisons in South Carolina during September. Dale says he’d like 250 ~ 500 of God’s Comeback Kids for distribution there. You probably can imagine how that makes me feel.

    • June 28, 2012 6:12 pm

      Don! Thanks so much for all your support over the years. I am so happy that your book is reaching people! I think it should be mandatory for every prison ministry in the country. God bless.

  8. June 28, 2012 7:42 am

    Finally! So glad to see you owning your name and writing this book. All the BEST!

  9. June 28, 2012 7:47 am

    Bye bye Bradley Moore and hello James Bradley Wood !
    I’m glad to get this weird news 🙂
    Yea!

  10. June 28, 2012 8:49 am

    Congrats, sir JBW!

    I’m with miss Sheila about the synoptical misfirings though.

    Blessings.

  11. June 28, 2012 8:55 am

    I’ve been calling you Brad-Jim since I met you last fall. Not to your face, of course, but that’s how I remember. Nevertheless, CONGRATULATIONS! Such, such good news!

  12. June 28, 2012 9:06 am

    I’m going to have to think about what to call you. You’ve given public permission here, and Brad still rolls off my tongue. Glad to see this post for a couple of reasons. First, transparency fits you and always has. Your pen name has served its purpose, for sure, but now it is in line with you as well. Second, I’m glad to see you being published again. I’ve always thought of you as a writer, and told you so, maybe an annoying number of times. When I gave Marcus my top tier list of bloggers in early 2009 – people who get the high calling message and know how to write and who I think should be writing for us – you were at the top of that list. You had been a member before that, but we wanted you IN. Thanks for saying yes. You continue to set the bar high and I am better for having you on the team.

    Blessings on this new endeavor, Brad.

    • June 28, 2012 6:14 pm

      Sam, thanks for your ever-kind words. You are such a great support, and I will always appreciate you for that.

  13. June 28, 2012 9:16 am

    Happy for you brother. The topic sounds wonderful and I’m excited for the futer.

  14. June 28, 2012 9:48 am

    Wow, I’ll have to check out that ebook, Bradley – I mean Jim – I mean J.B. 🙂 I love the title, so I’m hooked already.
    I thought about using a pen name too but switched to my real name at the last minute. I guess it’s ended up working out. Loren Pinilis doesn’t exactly flow, but it’s pretty one-of-a-kind.

  15. pastordt permalink
    June 28, 2012 10:21 am

    Wow, Bradley – er – J.B. – good job at keeping up the covert stuff. I think you introduced yourself to me as Bradley at Laity – or am I crazy? Don’t answer that. (I was so in a fog at that retreat that you could have given me almost any name and it would have gone through me like a sieve. What in heck was I doing at a writer’s retreat???)

    Congratulations and I will be ordering that book ASAP – good work, as always.

  16. June 28, 2012 11:27 am

    Jim, Congratulations and I look forward to reading the book as well as your future post!!

  17. June 28, 2012 1:29 pm

    Congratulations. I kinda like J.B. Same number of letters as Brad. And I get to use both hands to type it the letters.

  18. June 28, 2012 1:35 pm

    Lol, even knowing I have always accidentally called you Brad. Kind of like people call me L.L. when they meet me, even though that’s not really my name 😉

    congratulations! 🙂

  19. June 28, 2012 2:30 pm

    YAY! YAY! YAY! So happy for you Jimley B.

    I never knew we could eavesdrop. Really?? 🙂

  20. June 28, 2012 3:46 pm

    That is awesome, Jim! I always felt a bit strange calling you Bradley in this venue anyway.

  21. June 28, 2012 3:58 pm

    Ok first, big, huge congratulations on the book – you are a rock star! (or a published author…same thing).

    Second, can I just admit that I am totally FREAKED OUT that your name is not Bradley Moore? I don’t think I can get over that. Seriously. I may have to still call you Bradley.

    • June 28, 2012 6:16 pm

      Really, it’s okay! Bradley is my middle name, and I’ve always preferred it, so I will always answer to Bradley.

  22. June 28, 2012 4:03 pm

    Crazy! And we have several mutual friends outside the blogging community—sneaky =)

  23. June 28, 2012 5:24 pm

    Jim, or JB, it’s nice to meet you! I am not all properly connected socially with the real you – FB and LI. And congratulations on the new book. Can’t wait to read it!

  24. June 28, 2012 6:17 pm

    Thanks to everyone for your kind words of support! I really appreciate it, this has been fun.

  25. June 28, 2012 6:44 pm

    Bradley/Jim–first, I like Sheila am trying to wrap my brain around this whole name thing.
    second–from your title alone I may be persuaded to purchase this e book–
    third–If I don’t own a Kindle or Nook or any other e reader, can it still be purchased and like printed chapter by chapter?
    I’m still a paper and print kind o’ gal….

    Congratulations. Thank you for taking my questions. Just have your people call my people.

    • June 29, 2012 5:41 pm

      Jody – Unfortunately, I am not aware of any means by which an e-book can be purchased as a print copy. I appreciate your interest, though, and the minute you get an ipad or Kindle reader, come back for a download!

  26. June 28, 2012 9:44 pm

    So happy for you – congratulations!

    And glad I know what to call you now. so I can stop fumbling around for the right name like a crazed fan of her pop star idol…oh wait, maybe nothing has really changed here…

  27. June 28, 2012 9:49 pm

    Congratulations! Thank goodness I’m just getting to know you because I don’t think my one brain cell could otherwise handle the change.

  28. June 29, 2012 7:06 am

    Jim, huh? Now that is odd. And I’ve messed up my linked in password in the making. Will download the book later, Jim. See ya Jim. Hmmm.

  29. June 29, 2012 9:12 am

    Congratulations, Bradley, Jim, JB. You’re a great communicator — by any name. (Love the title.)

  30. June 29, 2012 1:21 pm

    I am SO excited about this. I’m off to find you on FB and elsewhere. BTW – I knew you had a pen name — lots of writers do it who have days jobs and I’ve considered it for myself.

    Welcome to my world. Now everyone can find you! I was just talking to another lawyer at a conference this week who is also a blogger. His advice to me was that our personal lives, professional lives, and other lives (whatever than means) are all really one. There is no anonymity. You are who you are! I said to him, “Well, that may be true. But my blogging has a faith-based message and sometimes I’m concerned that clashes with my professional identity.”

    He said, “Yeah, but there are some clients who want to know these kinds of things about their lawyers. Some of them might be offended and not hire you. But others might have the opposite reaction. It’s their choice.”

    Food for thought.

    Now, I’m off to get your book. So glad you did this! I’ve been light on social media lately for lots of good reasons (including writing a book) but would love to catch up!

    • June 29, 2012 5:43 pm

      Susan, your response here means alot. You were one of the writer/bloggers that I always admired for being so transparent in the professional world, and you have inspired me greatly to pursue the integrated life, for better or worse. (Hopefully, for the better!)

  31. June 30, 2012 12:37 pm

    Congrats on the ebook. Very excited for you, and nice to meet you, the real you! I had no idea you wrote under a pen name.

  32. July 1, 2012 11:18 am

    Apparently I’m the only one on the whole internet who didn’t know Camel Guy wasn’t really Bradley. Hmmm. Congratulations on your book, JIM. Well deserved!

  33. July 2, 2012 9:17 am

    Jim, I almost didn’t purchase your book since Amazon gave me the impression I needed to own a Kindle. Fortunately my friend at work told me I can download the Kindle App right to my I-pad and I-phone for free (Very cool). Thought I’d share for those technologically challenged like myself!

  34. July 25, 2012 10:39 am

    “spontaneous combustion of literary agents”…
    That puts quite an image into my head. 🙂

  35. Laura permalink
    July 27, 2012 4:10 pm

    I just finished the e-book, and have begun reading your past articles after signing up to follow your blog. You have made a difference in my thought-scape. Light and wisdom are so refreshing, so deeply refreshing! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

