Skip to content

Want to Make Something Happen? Write it Down.

September 27, 2011

I was cleaning out the basement last weekend when I turned my attention to an old file cabinet perched in a dark corner, minding its own business. In the frenzy of my purging rampage, I decided this guy’s number was up and began tossing its outdated contents into the trash.

Eventually I came across one particularly wrinkled and faded folder that simply said, “Goals.”

“What’s this crap?” I thought to myself, opening it to reveal a vaguely familiar series of neatly hand-written pages.

It was written nearly twenty years ago – by me, it turns out – when I was a struggling up-and-coming manager supporting a wife and brand new baby, trying to make my mark on the business world. It was a vision of my ideal future life.

Curious, I slowed down for a moment to read my larger-than-life dreams, circa 1993.

I am well dressed, with very nice shoes,” it begins.

Seriously, that’s how it starts. I smiled, and remembered. We lived in a very expensive area, and were always short on cash when it came to splurging beyond the staples for home and baby. Those fancy shoes represented an unspoken dignity I aspired towards, reaching beyond a hand-to-mouth existence.

The visioning instructions had called for no boundaries, no limits, no censoring of stupid ideas – clearing the way to tap the inner spirit of possibility. “Just imagine the life you love!” it had offered, then write it down.

Click here to continue reading this post over at the High Calling about the amazing possibilities of your awesome future!

Image by Angie Torres. Used with permission. Sourced via Flickr. Post by Bradley J. Moore.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 8:24 am

    Brad,

    You hit the nail on the head! 2 years ago I thought I would be ready with my next move in life. I prayed, but I also wrote down the dream and the life I would live. It is happening before my eyes.

    But even more true is the blessing that comes from God when you obey him, pray and then write down that vision… It happens better than you envisioned.

    Thank you for writing this.

    Regards
    Ophelia

  2. September 27, 2011 12:45 pm

    “One just never knows what words will do.” nancemaire 🙂

    I am developing a curious regard for words…words written and spoken.
    Even words thought…as is our language, and God speaking everyone’s language,
    as well as having other ways of communication with us and our spirit, heart and mind.

    As i know that words hold some kind of power with humans.
    Writing them does form something special, speaking them gives them communication life.

    Then there are the words of God, God the WORD, His word…already LIVING word.
    So..okay…what goes on when we read Living Words, or speak Living Words?

    Does this not give you a feeling that we are merely getting a peek at the tip of a few small ice burgs and one giant one?

  3. September 28, 2011 4:59 am

    Yes, words are powerful – It is so interesting that Jesus is referred to as the WORD and that God spoke everything into being with the WORD. Our ability to think, to plan, reason, and to speak things into being in our own worlds (for good or bad) also speaks to that power.

    You are on to something big, nancemarie…

  4. September 29, 2011 4:10 pm

    I know my whole life has been a goal written down somewhere, maybe more in my subconscious.

    I had this folder, maybe from high school, maybe not. I had stashed poems in it, typed out by an old typewriter, and on yellowing paper. Miraculously it followed me from home to home in a box, until one day I took it out and read bad poems written by a fifteen year old. But one of them stood out, and has been one of my best poems.

    ‘Corn Bread and Beans’ has reminded me of my passion and where I came from. God keeps me humble in the most peculiar ways.

    In the beginning God created everything, just heard that on a program. Has anyone else seen their goals as fruition from their beginnings in life and then they just lay out as it was told. I know this is way out there, but I believe God shared my path in life early on, and everything has happened just the way it was seen. Even the bumpy parts he knew I would need to experience…

  5. September 30, 2011 6:58 am

    I love this post. Everything we do, we invent through our language. Our goals are language and our prayers are language and writing them down is a powerful exercise. Cleaning out and coming across these things is fun too.

Trackbacks

  1. Christian. Working. Mom. | Susan DiMickele

Leave a Reply

