Skip to content

The Short Shelf Life of Your Spring Break

March 10, 2011

I am leaving soon for vacation, and decided this would also be a good time to take a little blogging break for a couple, oh, I don’t know, maybe three weeks. In the meantime, I will serve up some good re-posts that deserve a second round. You probably won’t even notice I’m gone.

Dear reader, I will think of you often (not really) while I am off somewhere in the Western Caribbean floating peacefully on a raft in the aqua-green sea. 

And speaking of vacations, I will leave you with this: In a study of 96 Dutch workers, researchers examined the impact of a winter vacation on longer-term well- being and found that the restorative effects of a vacation faded within a week upon returning to work. 

Oh well. So now you know what you suspected all along – the shelf-life of your Spring break is roughly 3 days after you get home. The benefit is all in the anticipation, I suppose. Which is to say, you better find ways to maintain your spiritual energy and joy through the actual work itself. Here’s an idea for that. Check out the upcoming Leadership & Spirituality event at Princeton Theological Seminary, May 15-16, 2011, “Becoming a Spiritually Intentional Leader.” It’s something to look forward to. Aside from your next vacation.

I hope to meet you there, but my tan will have worn off by then.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 7:07 am

    Could the study be an argument for allowing year-round vacations?

    Have a great trip!

  2. March 10, 2011 7:16 am

    Have a fabulous trip!

  3. March 10, 2011 9:56 am

    This is kind of funny. I remember when we took the kids to DisneyWorld, spending money we didnt have. A few months it was just a blur. Today, the only memories we really have are those from the photos.

    Makes me wonder if I would just be better off sitting in the back yard

  4. March 10, 2011 11:16 am

    Have a great vacation BJM,

    It’d be fun to attend the spirituality and leadership conference in Princeton, NJ.

    I’m sure you’ll be stir crazy in less than 24 hours.

  5. March 10, 2011 2:04 pm

    Have a wonderful time, Brad. Don’t even think about that email inbox while you’re gone. (sorry to plant that seed). And don’t forget to wear sunscreen. OK, that just reminded me of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfDZT_Y31rY .

  6. Phil permalink
    March 10, 2011 3:25 pm

    Enjoy your trip, Bradley. Not sure exactly where you’ll be, but if you’re anything like me the idea of dozing on the beach just won’t cut it. You wanna make the trip memorable? Grab a fishing rod and go after some of the local species…Climb a Mayan pyramid…go para-sailing. The memories will last longer! I will see you in Princeton at PTS3. Looking forward to it!

  7. March 10, 2011 4:02 pm

    This is funny. But I would guess that a joyful life, which traveling can be part of, would make a very big difference in overall well-being. For me, anticipating is a very big part of enjoying.

  8. March 10, 2011 8:40 pm

    who said vacation is suppose to be restorative?
    what the dutch don’t know
    is that work is for resting-up after vacation.

    🙂

  9. March 16, 2011 12:07 pm

    I do hope this break had done some restorative work, Bradley! And…I do notice you are gone! Glad for you for the time off. Rest, enjoy, come back soon.

Leave a Reply

