Skip to content

Your Artisanal Life

January 25, 2011

I was gunning across town the other day on the way to my next meeting, when I noticed a big new sign in front of a local business establishment. “Stove and Artisan Shop” it said, in casual, pompous-looking brown letters.

I groaned out loud and rolled my eyes. 

Please. I’m sorry, but isn’t this the same store, selling the same stinking wood burners and fireplace paraphernalia as before? And now, suddenly, it’s become – an artisan shop?

I found out later that the proprietor had added a section to the store dedicated to selling “American Crafts,” which, in this case, was really just homemade jewelry that somebody’s Aunt made at her suburban kitchen table.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m afraid the artisan bandwagon has arrived in town.

I immediately pulled over to the side of the road, cleared my throat and impulsively posted a snark-ridden Twitter/Facebook status that said,

“Word of the year: ‘Artisan.’ Put it before or after whatever it is you do, and you will become immediately relevant.”

Ha! There. That will show those cross-eyed trendmongers.

To continue reading all about artisans, click here to head over to The High Calling.

Photo by Graeme Maclean, used with permission.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 10:52 am

    Aritisan Bandwagons are everywhere
    Hiding behind the terms, proclaiming their betterment to mankind and,
    of couse, hoping we fools open the door and see something that wasn’t
    there before… a proprietor who learned a new word!!!

  2. January 25, 2011 3:45 pm

    I headed that way and it was well worth the trip …

  3. January 25, 2011 10:54 pm

    an articulate article of artisanal artistry

  4. January 27, 2011 9:39 am

    Ahhh, relevance – that which I aspire to above all else.
    Artisan Agrigirl

  5. January 31, 2011 11:43 am

    I’m heading over to check out the post, but I have tears in my eyes from laughing at this:

    I found out later that the proprietor had added a section to the store dedicated to selling “American Crafts,” which, in this case, was really just homemade jewelry that somebody’s Aunt made at her suburban kitchen table.

    I think I know some of those people in my life. 😉

Leave a Reply

