Skip to content

Any Road Will Take You There

September 14, 2010

I spent a good part of my career as a strategy consultant, and a favorite quote I liked to use was,  

            “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will take you there.”

That stopped most executives dead in their tracks, with their heads bobbing in worried agreement. Seriously, how can you expect to make progress and grow your company if you don’t have an intentional, well-defined plan that tells exactly how you will get from A to B?  Come on people, bring out the flip charts and let’s define B.

This advice was fine to administer while I was in the consulting business, but now that I work in a real company, I have a new favorite quote:

            “Plans are useless, but planning is priceless.”

It’s not that we don’t plan, we do. But we also acknowledge that things happen beyond our control – markets change, new competitors emerge, breakthrough technologies take hold, the economy goes down the toilet. Things happen. And your roadmap gets tossed right out the bathroom window.

We recognize that it is equally important to be good at sensing and responding to the changes happening around us.

This real-time mode of living is shrouded with mystery and unpredictability. Heck, sometimes we can’t even precisely define B. It’s all blurs and hunches and shadowy outlines, and maybe it feels more like we are being taken somewhere, rather than having it all mapped out. It’s like a bigger purpose is moving in our lives, and we are riding the invisible momentum of a wave propelling us to some future destiny. We are sensing. Watching. Responding.

To continue reading this post, click here and head over to The High Calling Blogs.

Photo used with permission via FreeFoto.com.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 6:56 am

    Rudderless. That’s what so many of our businesses are right now. I think its because of the economy, the accompanying uncertainty and downright fear. And that trickles down to individuals.

    But the worst thing is that the church and her people are in a similiar response. We are just listless. Some, to lift us out of this lethargy, are moving, just to get moving. As your post points out, that’s not enough.

    As Christians, we need to have a good direction that can only be done with some honest planning and faithful and patient execution.

  2. September 14, 2010 7:45 am

    When someone, or something,
    leaves their ‘calling card’,
    whether it be of information, circumstance or just a thought,
    it is best to let that card’s voice simmer in your soul…
    in hopes of someday, it making the connection for you to know what to do next.
    That’s when ‘Purpose’ shows it’s face on your Path!
    Love this!!

  3. September 14, 2010 1:38 pm

    wahooo!

  4. September 16, 2010 7:10 pm

    I loved this article, Bradley. I can’t remember if I commented over at HCB…so many times I am reading on my lunch at work and our filter system won’t let me comment (sometimes it blocks the site all together–you know, traditional religions and all).

    More than once in my life God has taken me to amazing places through a plan B (or C, or D). Letting the Holy Spirit room to move is not my greatest strength (when I taught at Marshall I used to show up an hour before class just, in case–the best thing God did for my performance anxiety was create a parking crunch at the college. ) But when I free myself up for that, He does amazing things. Thanks for this reminder…I think I need it before heading south in a couple weeks.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

