Skip to content

A Powerful Prayer for Workplace Moments

July 9, 2010

There is a prayer that is propped up on my office computer that I say just about every day. 

It was written by my friend Dr. Stephen Payne of A New Equilibrium. He gave this to me three years ago when he was doing some leadership coaching with me, and it is still as fresh and meaningful to me today as it was when I first started using it.

It goes like this:

God,

I surrender my will and my life to you. By your grace, help me to reveal more of your amazing love as I serve you at work. Show me the pathways that will better glorify you and serve the highest and greatest good of everyone in my organization. I ask this in the name of Jesus Christ.

Amen

It sounds so simple, yet every line of this prayer is packed with spiritual depth and meaning.

I surrender my will and my life to you.

What a way to get me back to spiritual reality! I need to constantly remind myself of this surrendering – both my intentions (my will) and the overall impact of my life.

By your grace, help me to reveal more of your amazing love as I serve you at work.

This part is so revolutionary – to think that I can reveal God’s love by serving Him at my job! I had never, ever considered that God’s love could be displayed in my work up until I started using this prayer.

Show me the pathways that will better glorify you and serve the highest and greatest good of everyone in my organization.

Here’s where the help with our daily challenges comes in. God’s grace is always availablet to reveal the best pathways. Even if it’s not what I expected it to be. And this is worded in such a way that keeps me focused on what is best for everyone in the organization, not just myself. There’s a bigger picture, all the time. But I must remain open to His spirit. This prayer helps with that.

I ask this in the name of Jesus Christ.

Amen

Photo by nAncY.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 6:22 am

    You have any job openings?

  2. July 9, 2010 11:33 am

    Thank you, Brad. A lovely and filled-with-meaning post.

  3. July 9, 2010 11:48 am

    yes, i believe s.p. is a very good friend.
    i am thankful that he is in your life.

  4. July 9, 2010 5:02 pm

    Brad,

    I love this prayer and it’s conciseness. Too often we think we need long flowery prayers to please God. God just wants honest prayers from a sincere heart…like this one.

    Brad

    • July 10, 2010 7:37 am

      Yes, that’s what I love about it to. It gets right to the point, and gets me focused on everything I should be focused on, spiritually. Covers alot of ground with a couple of sentences.

  5. July 9, 2010 5:38 pm

    Brad,

    Very thoughtful prayer (s) Brad. Warm.

  6. July 9, 2010 6:36 pm

    So often I hear from people how they wish they felt their work had a purpose. This simple little prayer makes that crystal clear, doesn’t it? Thanks for sharing it with us.

    • July 10, 2010 7:38 am

      Yes, revealing God’s love through our work. It’s so revolutionary, really. I think it helps if you feel that your job connects to your unique talents and gifts and personality, though. It would be tough to find a purpose if you hated your work. Others may disagree with that…

  7. July 12, 2010 12:19 pm

    I love your prayer. I just might adopt it for myself– at home for my mothering work and in the classroom. Thank you!

  8. November 17, 2011 9:02 am

    I don’t know how I missed this post. I will also tape this to my computer

  9. John permalink
    March 8, 2012 10:38 pm

    Thank you for sharing such a powerful prayer and if you do not mind may you please it to me.

    God bless

  10. John permalink
    March 8, 2012 10:44 pm

    Send it to to me I meant to say…

    God bless

Trackbacks

  1. Inexpressible Joy

Leave a Reply

