Skip to content

Forced Fun

June 22, 2010

I once did an exercise for a leadership coach where he asked me to write out a vivid description of my ideal life in the future. It was one of those visionary-things which is supposed to force you to come to grips with your enormous potential for achieving super-sized goals in life. 

I obediently wrote it all down, and upon reading it he simply said, “It all sounds very nice, but where’s the fun in this?”

“Fun?” I was thinking.  “You didn’t say anything about fun! My future is serious business, man!” 

He caught me.  

Apparently, I had been taking my career far too seriously. I had to go back and rewrite it with a greater emphasis on having fun in life.

“How would you define fun?” I asked him before he left. I wanted to make sure that I got it right.

This was not a good sign.

For some reason I tend to downplay the lighter side of life, spending far too much time thinking about all of my responsibilities, my work, and the infinite number of chores and errands that must get done.  Whenever I try to relax and take it easy, there’s always that abusive little voice in my head telling me what a slacker I am.  

You can’t leave work already! It’s only been 10 hours today!

“Don’t even think about taking a nap! Do you honestly think Jack Welsh ever took a nap? Now there was a real leader!”

“Put down that book! You could be working on your next blog post!”

Click here to continue reading over at The High Calling Blogs.

Photo by nAncY.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 4:10 pm

    Hello.

    In all candor, I’ve been so deeply convicted by James 4:13-15 that I’ve stopped trying to worry about goals. I have no goals, therefore I have no ideal future to dream about – other than the glories in the world to come. Forced fun, aka rest, is an absolute necessity. It’s a command, and I’m all too happy to obey…oftentimes too happy. Good reminders here, Bradley.

    Brad

  2. June 23, 2010 4:44 pm

    No goals? Seriously? Do you have a job, and still no goals? That would be weird. If not goals, then what about aspirations? Or just stuff that you think about doing some day? Talk to me. This is very interesting.

  3. June 23, 2010 5:40 pm

    okay… i will have some fun… if you insist.
    twist my arm, why don’t ya? 🙂

  4. June 24, 2010 3:25 pm

    “No goals? Seriously? Do you have a job, and still no goals? That would be weird. If not goals, then what about aspirations? ”

    Well, I am a little weird I suppose. The irony is that even though I now leave goals out of my life, I’ve been promoted several times (I currently work as an analyst for a large corporation) since dropping my ambitions. God provides opportunities and I take them, but my only goal now professionally is to work hard and share the Gospel and allow God to provide. For me, the elimination of goals has been necessary for being content.

    “Or just stuff that you think about doing some day? Talk to me. This is very interesting.”

    I want to become what Jonathan Edwards once prayed daily in his 70 Resolutions…which essentially was this: I want to be the best possible Christian the world has ever seen. What shape and form that takes in the world isn’t a big concern for me. i just want to know, enjoy and share Jesus for the rest of my life – no matter what God has me do to provide food and shelter for my family.

    Brad

Leave a Reply

