Skip to content
10 Comments leave one →
  1. daughtridge permalink
    October 9, 2009 5:41 am

    Nice post. I can really identify. Can’t wait to read the followup next week.

    This is my first visit to your blog, and I must say that you’ve got your work cut out for you! Bravo on tackling the theme, my friend.

    D.

  2. October 9, 2009 10:26 am

    You hit the nail on the head. This was my story for years, too. I’m curious for the “Five Rules” but here’s what worked for me:

    During my “spiritual download” (quiet time in the morning) I’d jot down a Bible verse for that day on a little piece of paper. In times of stress, near deadlines, troubles, before heavy phone calls, overworked team members I’d go to the restroom, grab the little piece of paper and be reminded of the Bible verse.

    Because the word of our God stands forever (Isaiah 40:8) this would cause me to perspective the situation again. Side effect is that you memorize the Scripture. It also created opportunities for the Holy Spirit to move and be the Helper.

    Blessed are those who visit the restroom to get more spiritually engaged. 🙂

  3. October 9, 2009 11:14 am

    I presently have the luxury of working primarily at home. Yet I also work away from home at times, I help my husband (a police officer) decompress from work, and I remember well the days when living my faith was tested in a 40-hr work environment. I do appreciate what’s being said here.

    May I share a testimony?

    The last full-time office job I had involved numerous tests of faith. One incident involved a group of co-workers joining forces to verbally attack me before the department administrator. I had only a few seconds warning, and uttered the brief prayer, “Lord, whatever else happens, please give me strength to not dishonor You.” I was able to withstand their tirade with dignity and humility. The next morning I entered the office to an unprecedented yelling match as one woman shouted down the others for what they’d done. Then she told me in front of everyone that she admired the way I’d handled it.

    For three years in that workplace I’d lived out my faith quietly. My cubicle evidenced a few Jesus and Bible decorations, but I rarely felt the Spirit’s prompting to speak about Him. He knew all along that I wouldn’t need to mention His name when it mattered most.

  4. October 9, 2009 1:59 pm

    This post is like coming face-to-face with my own day-to-day reality. And lately, it’s been worse. We’ve been going through an extended period of organizational change. We can see the outlines of the change but not much beyond. One organization becomes three. No one is quite sure who’s really responsible for what. And every day brings a new crisis.

    It helps to: take time to breathe deep; talk with friends; spend time quietly in prayer (as opposed to an official “quiet time”); write some things I feel inspired to write; and realize each day, and usually many times a day, who is walking right beside me. And then lean on him. Hard.

  5. October 9, 2009 8:12 pm

    I got a good smile from this… “Ooops! Where’d He go?”

    Now, about that recalibration… maybe the breathy female voice could also read you some poetry? 🙂

  6. October 10, 2009 6:46 pm

    no rules
    no no no
    no
    rules
    anything
    but
    rules

  7. October 11, 2009 7:35 pm

    Brad, you and Robert Brault (A Bob Brault Reader) make me think every time I tune in to your station. Lately I’ve been thinking pretty seriously about King David , who was, as you know, engaged in business. Before he wore a crown and sat on a throne, he was also in business: tending sheep. Talk about boring chores! How’d you like to be working on the night shift, w/out air conditioning, benefits, music being piped in, and no protection from the elements or wild animals. The more I think about the man, the more I realize that he discovered the real secret of true success in any endeavour. It never had anything to do with acts (dull and boring, or exciting and demanding). It always has to do with attitude. As you know, someone noted early on that he was “a man after God’s own heart.” That, I’m convinced, was the key to his success as a shepherd as well as in his role as a king and ancestor of Jesus. With that attitude, he was able to endure the stink of sheep manure as well as the sweet smell of success as a monarch. It was also the unbreakable bond that brought him back when he strayed off course.

  8. October 11, 2009 8:02 pm

    Intriguing.

    Jean

  9. October 21, 2009 1:10 pm

    Hey, my church already has an app for that!

    We’re doing a series on Soul Revolution, the book by John Burke. As described in the book, everyone is setting their watches/timers to go off every hour (for 60 days) to remind us to seek God’s will for whatever situation we’re in at the time. There’s been a lot of random beeping going on, but it’s helped many of us not get lost in our work-a-day world.

    Your post reminded me of myself before I left Corporate America to become self-employed. My daily grind became more manageable when it hit me that the God of the universe and the God of me was also the God of American Greetings…and everything going on there…whether or not those around me realized it.

  10. shrinkingthecamel permalink*
    October 21, 2009 5:16 pm

    My bad for not responding on these comments sooner (like you guys care, right?), but there are so many great ideas here!

    First of all, welcome to the new STC visitor/commenters, Jean, Kate Rein, and Daghtridge. Jean, I really like your concise response. I am definitely too wordy most of the time! Daughtridge, I hope you have come back to visit by now. And Kate, that is a very cool idea that I had not heard yet.. and alarm clock for God! What an incredibly simple but useful idea. Sounds like it is working, too.

    Don, I love your vivid descriptions of biblical characters. Yes, at the end of the day it’s our attytude that probably drives more of our spiritual engagement at work than anything else. The attitude, not the action. Well said. Some of us, however, are more tuned in to good attitudes than others?

    Leon – you win the prize for most original – visiting the rest room to get spiritually engaged. Why not? GOd is everywhere, right?

    The rest of you guys – thanks for the thoughts and ideas. I am re-reading them and feel so encouraged!

Leave a Reply

