Skip to content

Summer Reruns

July 1, 2009

I can hardly believe that one full year has just about passed since I started up the Shrinking the Camel Blog last July. Ninety posts later, I can honestly look back and say, “What was I thinking?”  I have no idea how I ever mustered up the time and energy for all of that creative writing, but there it is, hanging somewhere in that Tag Cloud to your lower right.

I am happy to report that I have made some great friends along the way, and am ever so grateful for those who, for some odd reason, faithfully take the time to read my new posts each week. I am also still a little surprised that the folks at InsideWork, HighCalling and SalesGravy ever invited me to share these stories on their massively higher-trafficked sites. (Thank you.)

As the summer bears down in earnest, I am reflecting upon what it all has meant. This one thought strikes me: I definitely need a break. But I don’t want to shut down STC for the summer – that would kill me. And maybe you would miss me too. The solution? Reruns! I have a sneaking suspicion that most of you did not discover this Blog until it was well underway. I know this in fact, because I have been keeping track. The readership didn’t really pick up in a consistent and serious way until late November and December. So most readers started with whatever was getting posted then. And we all know that no one actually goes back and reads posts from the past. Who has the time? And, here is the beauty: You have no idea what you have missed. 

I suppose there is some Blog etiquette rule about posting reruns, but I am going to ignore it because I have written some awesome material over the past year and in my opinion, it is absolutely worth posting again.

In addition to these reruns, I am also going to introduce a guest Blogger from time to time: my friend and co-conspirator in the Leadership & Spirituality field, Dr. Stephen Payne. His material is much more practical than mine. Plus you will likely pick up his British accent, which makes the read sound more prestigious, too. (See? That word “prestigious” doesn’t sound nearly as good the way I just wrote it now as it would with a British accent). I think you will like it.  

I will drop in occassionally for a word or two, but will mostly spend my time focusing on some big-picture stuff. Like, where the aych am I going with all of this? Right now, I am not sure. But, I have a feeling that, as Dr. Payne always says, God is showing me the pathways. I’ll keep you posted.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 10:12 pm

    i think that summer is like that, you know, it has a way of leaving us all feeling a need for a change, some hang loose time.

    with all the things that we are busy with the rest of the year that allow us to feel like we are accomplishing something, well, we can feel quite unsure of letting some of that slide. the questions creep into our minds, like…what will people think? what excuse can i use for behaving like a bum? things like that.

    well, get over it! it’s summer, man! kick back! go barefoot! do some summer stuff!

    i say that the posting of reruns is actually going above and beyond your summertime blog quota.

    you have earned three months of blog vacation time!

    go for it.

  2. July 2, 2009 12:48 am

    I’m looking forward to the reruns.

    Blogging only for a year, eh? I took you for a veteran. I’m a July 2008 Blog Baby, too, by the way.

    I’m from Iowa, so I say Pres-TEE-jus.
    but I can go for a smart-sounding Pres-TIH-jus Britishman with a PhD.

    (wink)

  3. July 2, 2009 5:49 am

    Summer reruns are OK, Brad, and the guest blogger like Stephen Payne is a good idea, too. Sometimes you need to take a break, relax, stick your toes in the wet sand at the beach, look at a sunset, and slow down enough to listen.

    But I’ll miss your regular posts.

  4. July 2, 2009 9:49 am

    i suppose i must be the one to break it to you. once you start blogging you can not quit, unless you go through the twenty-two step process.

  5. July 2, 2009 1:44 pm

    Congratulations, Brad!

    Brad

  6. July 2, 2009 8:06 pm

    well….he’ll be sardonic, right? unlike you , my straight laced tongue in cheek friend

  7. July 2, 2009 10:10 pm

    Enjoy your summer! I’ll drop in a time or two, also.

    Jean
    http://www.jeanmatthewhall.blogspot.com

  8. shrinkingthecamel permalink*
    July 3, 2009 11:03 am

    I am haunted by Nancy’s “addiction” comment … Yeah, I am already worried about that! I wonder how long I can stay away from it? THe good news is, if I keep writing, I can use those stories for later on.

    Thanks, everyone for allowing me to be off the hook for a little while!

  9. July 3, 2009 11:11 am

    there is play that can only be done in ths summer.

    there are the memories of childhood summers of time, sun, dirt, play, scratched up knees, and stars in the night sky.

    i think that all of this must be visited again. there is that pull of wondering when school is going to let out.

    it is a lot like letting go of our own control and following the leading of God.

  10. July 8, 2009 2:08 pm

    Here’s the thing… often, our blogs have so much great content and it just gets buried over time. This is a chance to unearth the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

