Skip to content

Princeton Theological Seminary to Hold Seminar on Leadership, Spirituality and the Workplace

January 8, 2009

I have been invited to be a guest speaker at Princeton Theological Seminary for a program on March 22-24 entitled, “Leadership and Spirituality: Transforming the Workplace.” Can you believe it? Princeton! To think that Shrinking the Camel has risen to such prominent status among the Ivy Leagues! I can picture it now, the Ed McMahon introduction: “Live, from Princeton, New Jersey, let’s give a big Princeton Seminary welcome to…………..Bradley J. Moore!”  Well, yeah I know it won’t be anything like that. Probably more like crumpets and a Book of Order to set the tone for the day. But, seriously, it is very exciting that such a prestigious institution would even consider the topic of “Spirituality and the Workplace” to be on their radar screen to begin with. It’s a good sign, I think.

The mastermind behind this program is my friend and mentor, Dr. Stephen Payne of Leadership Strategies, who has teamed up with the Princeton folks to create this new program for their continuing education program. Okay, so now you know that my connection with Dr. Payne is really the only reason I got invited to speak, and not because STC is so awesomely popular among the intellectually elite. Oh well.

Over the past months I’ve written several stories on this Blog about my relationship with Dr. Payne, how he has challenged and influenced my responses to various situations at work. His goal has been to help me in my business to operate from a base of spiritual strength, rather than any number of other less effective bases that I might operate from, such as, oh, I don’t know, maybe greed, power, insecurity, fear, manipulation, revenge…that list could go on and on. I’m the case study, I guess. Or something like that.

I don’t know what I’ll talk about yet. Maybe you can give me some ideas.

This program will be a first of its kind, bringing both clergy and business leaders together to discuss the important role that our spiritual lives have in impacting our leadership effectiveness at work. For those of us in business, this program will help us to concretely link our Christian life to our jobs, our careers, and our impact on the workplace. What a great opportunity!

More details are coming. In the meantime, please check it out, and forward to any of your friends or fellow Bloggers who might be interested. Here is the link: http://www.ptsem.edu/ce/coursepr9erd403.php

Stay tuned for more details. I’ll keep you posted, and hope to see some of you there!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 10:18 pm

    i always thought that being a good leader takes a person that is a good follower of the Holy Spirit. i have to admitt that i was thinking of pastors and such when i thought about this kind of thing.

    now, i know that in my family, the way the beliefs run right now, that it is very important for me to continue to walk in the Holy Spirit. the Holy Spirit is in the process of transforming my own heart.

    as for the business world and those that are in positions that are seen by other as leaders of something. if other people depend upon the said leaders for direction, then i would think that it would be good that the leader displayed the qualities of the fruit of the Spirit. i also would think that wikth the prayer of this leader for those being led and the leader walking in the Spirit would bring some kind of work of the Spirit and then some kind of transformation.

    but, i would think that the tansformation would probably be in a way…well…not at all what is expected or predicted by the leader.

    i would also like to add that by any of us following the Holy Spirit puts us all in the position for the Holy Spirit to work in others, and for the Holy Spirit to make an impact in all the places that we are. and the Holy Spirit making a change in other parts and places can also make a extend into our workplace.

    ok…that’s it for now.

    so glad that we can relate about our thoughs.

    i liked your imput on social justice AND bringing people to Christ. thanks

  2. January 8, 2009 10:22 pm

    i hope that i am not the only one that can understand that last paragraph.

  3. January 9, 2009 10:46 am

    Most pastors and theologians ask business people to adopt their spiritual vocabulary in order to talk together about work issues from a Christian perspective. (e.g. ethics, morality, evangelism, glorifying God)
    I’d like to see us honor our Christian business leaders as the thought leaders in this area, and use the vocabulary of the workplace in order to think critically about the expression faith takes in our capitalistic democracy. (e.g. creativity, collaboration, investment, power.)
    Congrats on the speaking invitation. I will check into the event. I love these sorts of discussions.

  4. January 9, 2009 1:19 pm

    Yaaaaa For You. Ya God!!!! That is soooo exciting. Many blessings and a suit case of prayers. Good luck my friend, may Jesus work powerfully through you.

  5. January 9, 2009 4:28 pm

    Congratulations. Hey, connections don’t minimize it. We all have them, but we still have to step up to the plate and deliver.

    (Sounds like something my NY pastor should attend. Hmmm….)

  6. January 15, 2009 5:37 pm

    I’m fired up that you will be teaching at this event. The event represents something very significant that I see going on in the workplace and marketplace, slowly building over the last 15 years.

    And I’m excited for the participants to be able to hear you. Your passion for this subject, your heart for God, your total authenticity, and your wit will make the dialogue sparkle and come alive.

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes! Praying for you!

    Dan

  7. shrinkingthecamel permalink*
    January 20, 2009 8:10 pm

    Thanks so much everyone for your encouragement! I really appreciate it, and will come back afterwards with a report on the event.

  8. January 22, 2009 10:13 am

    Greetings shrinking camel,

    Princeton has a lot of ivy…
    I graduated from the tower!

    Leadership is slippery…
    Business is compulsory…
    Spirituality is personal…
    Jesus Christ is the same everyday…

    Tell them the truth!
    You cannot serve God and Mammon!

    Rejoice, ron

    BTW: A full-size camel is tough to find in Princeton!

  9. February 5, 2009 3:09 am

    Wow! I’m impressed. . . and more so when it appears that you have the good sense to reognize the Source and can stay focused on the objective. I’d probably be so pompous and proud I could strut while sitting down. Especially if I could swagger up front in regal cap and gown! Humility becomes you!

    I think I might be a regular customer. I grew up in the South and came to Christ under the ministry of an old fashioned “Bible Thumper.” I can hear him now saying he liked to “get his head under the spigot when the glory is pouring out.” I really do appreciate and applaud your efforts.

    Stay close to Christ. ~don

Leave a Reply

